Repairing bikes on the market

ABOUT US

RULENGE

Rulenge is a small village with about 3500 inhabitants in the northwest of Tanzania, more precisely in the Ngara District, close to the border with Burundi and Rwanda. From Ngara, the next bigger town, Rulenge is about 45 kilometres away. In the Tanzanian highlands of the Kagera region, the village is comparatively rural.

In 2014 Rulenge was provided with a central water and electricity supply, but the majority of households cannot afford it.

Due to poverty, the standard of education in Rulenge is also very low. Most families do not have enough income to enable their children to attend a higher school. The economy of Rulenge is mainly based on agriculture: Plantains, manioc and a variety of fruits and vegetables are grown.

Colourful market activity on saturday

Important medium for transportation: the bicycle

There is a Catholic hospital in Rulenge, but patients who cannot afford the treatment costs are often turned away here. In order to improve the situation of these people, a health fund was set up by Kivuko e.V. The long-term goal is to provide adequate health care to all needy people in Rulenge.

Follow Us:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
Kivuko e.V.
IBAN: DE 09 7835 0000 0040 6418 39
BIC: BYLADEM1COB
Sparkasse Coburg – Lichtenfels

Fahrradreparatur auf dem Markt

ÜBER UNS

RULENGE

Rulenge ist ein kleines Dorf mit ungefähr 3500 Einwohnern im Nordwesten Tansanias, genauer im Ngara District, nahe an der Grenze zu Burundi und Ruanda. Von Ngara, der nächsten größeren Stadt, ist Rulenge ca. 45 Kilometer entfernt. Im tansanischen Hochland der Kagera Region liegt das Dorf vergleichsweise ländlich.

2014 wurde Rulenge mit einer zentralen Wasser- und Stromversorgung versehen, allerdings kann der Großteil der Haushalte diese nicht finanzieren.

Aufgrund der Armut ist auch der Bildungsstandard in Rulenge sehr niedrig. Die meisten Familien haben nicht genügend Einkünfte, um ihren Kindern den Besuch einer höheren Schule ermöglichen zu können. Die Wirtschaft Rulenges basiert hauptsächlich auf dem Agrarwesen: Es werden Kochbananen, Maniok und eine Vielzahl an Obst- und Gemüsesorten angebaut.

Buntes Markttreiben am Samstag

Wichtiges Transportmittel: das Fahrrad

In Rulenge gibt es ein katholisches Krankenhaus, doch PatientInnen, die die Behandlungskosten nicht tragen können, werden hier oft abgewiesen. Um die Situation dieser Menschen zu verbessern, wurde durch Kivuko e.V. ein Gesundheitsfonds eingerichtet. Das langfristige Ziel ist, allen bedürftigen Menschen in Rulenge eine angemessene Gesundheitsversorgung zu ermöglichen.

Follow Us:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
Kivuko e.V.
IBAN: DE 09 7835 0000 0040 6418 39
BIC: BYLADEM1COB
Sparkasse Coburg – Lichtenfels