HEALTHCARE FUND

The challenge

DISEASES

POVERTY

Poverty leads to diseases and diseases lead to poverty. Who is caught in such a vicious circle of poverty and illness in a country like Tanzania can hardly escape it without any outside help. For most people health insurance is too expensive and services do not cover all treatments so that many locals cannot afford going to the doctor. Minor diseases, which could be treated easily, can rapidly develop into chronic and life-threatening illnesses as a consequence.
Malaria serves as a good example: Within the first few days, medicine is relatively cheap and the disease is easy to treat. However, if you wait longer, it usually becomes necessary to stay in the hospital for getting intensive and expensive treatment. If you do not treat malaria or if you start treatment too late, it can even lead to death.

Healthcare fund

Acces to health care

We want to provide access to health care for people living in Rulengee/Ngara region - independent from their income and for that time period which is needed for a full recovery.

Knowledge about diseases and their prevention

The goal is that people understand why they or people from their social environment felt sick and how they can prevent this in the future.

Maintaining or improving the living conditions

Falling sick should not be the cause for further impoverishment of people who already belong to the poorest of the region. 

How do we want to achieve this?

Emergency Aid

We fund the treatment costs for people who can not afford them. The majority of these treatments are lifesaving. 

Aftercare and prevention

For maintaining the health state in the long-term, the Tanzanian team of Kivuko supervises the clients until their full recovery. Mentoring the clients in their daily life is also crucial for prevention of further diseases.

Community Work 

The social environment is a crucial component for health. Kivuko evaluates the situation  and is working on solutions together with the clients. They tackle questions such as: Who can offer support? Who can regulary look after patients? How can risks be minimized together?

And how does this look like?

Until January 2021, more than 145 patients could be treated through the health fund of Kivuko. The majority of the treatments was lifesaving. Get insights into the work of the Tanzanian team who grew up in Rulenge or live there since many years:

GESUNDHEITSFONDS

Hintergrund 

KRANKHEIT

ARMUT

Armut begünstigt Krankheit und Krankheit begünstigt Armut. Wer in einem Land wie Tansania in diesen Teufelskreis geraten ist, kann diesem von alleine schwer entkommen. Dadurch, dass eine Krankenversicherung für viele Menschen zu teuer ist oder die Leistungen nicht alle Behandlungen abdecken, können sie sich Arztbesuche oft nicht leisten, wodurch sich aus eigentlich leicht behandelbaren Krankheiten schnell chronische und lebensgefährliche Leiden entwickeln können. 
Das klassische Beispiel ist Malaria: Innerhalb der ersten Tage ist eine Behandlung günstig und verhältnismäßig leicht durchzuführen. Wartet man jedoch länger, wird häufig eine stationäre Versorgung nötig. Wird die Krankheit zu spät behandelt, kann sie sogar zum Tode führen. 

Unser Ziel

Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung 

In unserem Tätigkeitsgebiet Rulenge / Ngara soll Menschen den Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung ermöglicht werden - unabhängig von ihrem Einkommen und so lange, bis sie ganz genesen sind. 

Wissen über Krankheiten und Vorbeugung

Das Ziel ist, dass Menschen nachvollziehen können, warum sie oder Menschen aus ihrem sozialen Umfeld erkrankt sind und wie sie dem in Zukunft selbst vorbeugen können.

Erhalt oder Verbesserung des Lebensstandards 

Krankheit sollte nicht die Ursache für eine weitere Verarmung von Menschen sein, die sowieso schon von extremer Armut betroffen sind. 

Wie erreichen wir das?

Nothilfe in Krankheitsfällen

Menschen, die für medizinische Behandlungen nicht selbst aufkommen können, werden diese finanziert. Dies verhindert mitunter den Tod der Erkrankten.

Nachsorge und Prävention

Um die Gesundheit langfristig zu sichern, werden die Patientinnen und Patienten bei Bedarf bis zu ihrer vollständigen Genesung in ihrem Alltag durch regelmäßige Hausbesuche von Kivuko weiter betreut. Dies dient auch der Prävention weiterer Erkrankungen. 

Einbeziehen des sozialen Umfelds 

Das soziale Umfeld spielt für die Erhaltung der Gesundheit eine entscheidende Rolle. Das tansanische Team von Kivuko evaluiert die Situation und arbeitet gemeinsam mit den Patientinnen und Patienten an Lösungen. Dabei geht es um Fragen wie: Wer kann Unterstützung anbieten? Wer schaut regelmäßig nach dem Rechten? Welche Risiken können gemeinsam ausgeräumt werden?

Und wie sieht das bisher aus?

Durch den Gesundheitsfonds von Kivuko e.V. konnten bis Anfang 2021 mehr als 145 Patientinnen und Patienten betreut werden. Einblicke in die Arbeit des Teams vor Ort, das selbst in Rulenge verwurzelt ist und daher bestens die Gegebenheiten kennt, seht ihr in dieser Galerie: