top of page
WhatsApp Image 2023-04-01 at 19.02.27.jpeg

Menstrual hygiene management: Workshops at schools

The challenge

noun-menstruation-3509880.png

In Tanzania, a lack of education about menstruation, non-affordable menstrual hygiene products and taboos mean that girls and women suffer from health problems. Non-privileged women are often forced to use alternative menstrual hygiene products, usually makeshift solutions such as pieces of cloth.

Girls often do not attend school during menstruation and thus miss up to 20% of school time. This in turn has a negative impact on their social status in society. Promoting menstrual hygiene worldwide is therefore an important step towards improving the health and well-being of women and girls and promoting gender equality and sustainable development.

Our goal

noun_knowledge_2743267.png

Students, teachers and principals have knowledge about menstruation

Students have all capacities for menstrual hygiene management. Infections are avoided and we want to break taboos.

noun-pad-3650508.png

Participants get to know affordable menstrual hygiene products.

​Participants learn that costs for menstrual hygiene management can be reduced through reusable products. The access to such products is ensured for girls who are affected most by poverty.

noun_education_3764747.png

In the long-term school attendance during menstruation is increased.

No access to menstrual hygiene products and taboos lead to low school attendance of girls during their menstruation. With our workshops we want to change this.

How do we reach that?

noun_Seminar_2418053.png

Workshops with girls, boys, teachers and parents

The menstruation workshops are held by Evodia and our clinic doctor. The basics of menstruation and pregnancy are taught and menstrueal hygiene products are presented, including their advantages and disadvantages and how to use them safely and hygienically.

noun-pad-3650508.png

Access to menstrual hygiene products

We obtain reusable sanitary pads from the local NGO Womenchoice. Those who are most affected by poverty receive the reusable pads free of charge.

And how does this look like?

In the first round of workshops we were able to reach more than 1000 students. The information and demonstration of the hygiene products met with great interest. The separate question and answer sessions for girls and boys were also important for all participants. Days after the workshops, girls came back to Kivuko employees to have more questions answered. School management and some parents' councils were also reached. Over 100 girls received free reusable sanitary pads.

bottom of page

top of page
WhatsApp Image 2023-04-01 at 19.02.27.jpeg

Menstruations-Workshops an Schulen

Hintergrund 

noun-menstruation-3509880.png

In Tansania bedeuten fehlende Aufklärung über die Menstruation, Tabuisierung sowie mangelnde Hygiene und Mangel an geeigneten Produkten, dass Mädchen und Frauen unter gesundheitlichen Problemen leiden. Nicht-Privilegierte Frauen sind oft gezwungen, alternative Menstruationsartikel, meist Behelfslösungen wie z.B. Stofffetzen, zu verwenden. Sichere Monatshygieneartikel sind in ländlichen Regionen nicht verfügbar oder nicht erschwinglich für viele Frauen und Mädchen.

Mädchen besuchen während der Regelblutung häufig nicht die Schule und versäumen so bis zu 20 % der Unterrichtszeit. Dies wirkt sich wiederum negativ auf die soziale Stellung in der Gesellschaft aus. Die Förderung von Menstruationshygiene weltweit ist daher ein wichtiger Schritt zur Verbesserung der Gesundheit und des Wohlbefindens von Frauen und Mädchen sowie zur Förderung von Geschlechtergerechtigkeit und nachhaltiger Entwicklung. 

Unsere Ziele

noun_knowledge_2743267.png

Schüler/-innen, Lehrkräfte und die Schulleitung wissen über Menstruation Bescheid

Dadurch soll der Umgang mit ihrer Menstruation für die Schülerinnen leichter werden. Zum Einen sollen Infektionen verhindert werden, zum Anderen soll die Tabuisierung des Themas bekämpft werden.  

noun-pad-3650508.png

Die Teilnehmenden lernen erschwingliche Hygieneprodukte kennen 

Die Teilnehmenden sollen lernen, dass Menstruationshygiene auch günstiger geht als mit teuren Einmalbinden. Wiederverwendbare Alternativen werden vorgestellt. Der Zugang für Mädchen, die besonders von Armut betroffen sind, soll sichergestellt werden.

noun_education_3764747.png

Es werden langfristig weniger Schuletage versäumt

Keine geeigneten Hygieneprodukte zu haben und die Tabuisierung bedeuten, dass man Schultage versäumt. Das soll sich durch die Workshops langfristig ändern. 

Wie erreichen wir das?

noun_Seminar_2418053.png

Workshops mit Mädchen, Jungen, Lehrkräften und dem Elternbeirat 

Die Menstruationsworkshops werden durch Evodia und unseren Klinikarzt durchgeführt. Grundlagen zur Menstruation und Schwangerschaft werden vermittelt und Hygieneprodukte werden inklusive Vor- und Nachteilen und einem sicheren und hygienischen Umgang vorgestellt.

noun-pad-3650508.png

Zugang zu Hygieneprodukten 

Wir erhalten wiederverwendbare Binden von der lokalen NGO Womenchoice. Die Teilnehmenden, die am stärksten von Armut betroffen sind, erhalten die Binden kostenlos.

Und wie sieht das aus?

In der ersten Runde der Workshops konnten wir über 1000 Schülerinnen und Schüler erreichen. Die Informationen und Vorführungen der Hygieneprodukte stießen auf großes Interesse. Auch die getrennten Frage- und Antwortrunden für Mädchen und Jungen waren für alle Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer wichtig. Noch Tage nach den Workshops kamen die Mädchen zu den Kivuko-Mitarbeitern zurück, um weitere Fragen zu stellen. Auch die Schulleitung und einige Elternbeiräte wurden erreicht. Über 100 Mädchen erhielten kostenlos wiederverwendbare Damenbinden.

bottom of page