From idea to reality

Construction of a clinic in Kabanga

Before the construction of a clinic by Kivuko e.V., there was no health care provision available for people in Kabanga, a village in about 40 kilometers distance from Rulenge. In order to receive medical treatments, the residents of Kabanga had to travel 30 kilometers to the city of Ngara. Travelling by bus is expensive and hardly manageable for someone in a poor physical condition. Before the hospital was built, there was only a pharmacy in place which charges clients about four times the normal price. Sick people consequently hesitated to go to a doctor which at extended the duration of treatment and increased treatment costs due to the advanced stage of the disease. In order to solve these issues, Kivuko e.V. initiated the construction of a clinic for outpatient treatment in Kabanga.

In May 2018, the clinic was officially opened. The hospital comprises a pharmacy, a laboratory, an examination room and a reception desk. The costs of about 25 000 Euros were completely covered by donations to Kivuko e.V.. People in Kabanga now receive basic medical care at fair prices. The treatment is free of charge for children under five and pregnant women.

Clinicplan

Primary health care is essential

Especially after the rainy season, people are exposed to a high risk of getting infected with malaria. Mosquito nets only provide limited protection against malaria and a large proportion of the population cannot afford buying them. Every person suspected of having malaria needs to be tested as soon as possible. This applies in particular for children and elderly or weak people. Kivuko e.V. health station has facilitated access to malaria tests for people in Kabanga whilst using professional laboratory tests instead of inaccurate rapid test methods.

In case an infection has been approved, the disease can be treated immediately and efficiently with medication from the clinic’s own pharmacy. Diseases such as worm infections and typhoid fever are two other common diagnoses in the clinic. Currently, our team is working on diagnosing and treating tuberculosis. Patients with more complex clinical pictures are sent to larger hospitals in the region.

Clinic area in Kabanga

Employment creation

Apart from improvements in medical care, the region benefits from newly created jobs in the clinic in the long term. Like in other regions, the persistence of unemployment presents a major challenge to residents in the districts of Ngara and aggravates the spread of disease. The construction of the clinic has created seven new jobs: A doctor, two pharmacists, one of whom is also a trained nurse, a laboratory assistant, a security guard, an accountant and a manager have found a job in our clinic. A regular income improves their own well being as well as the situation of their families. The employees can spend more money on the education of their siblings and children and thus raise educational levels in the region over time
Special thanks go to all sponsors and supporters who made the construction of the clinic possible and who have contributed to improving the local living conditions. Likewise, our cooperation partners of Kivuko e.V. in Rulenge have done an excellent job. The great vision of improving health care in Kabanga has been accomplished through their tireless commitment and perseverance. Asante sana!

Follow Us:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
Kivuko e.V.
IBAN: DE 09 7835 0000 0040 6418 39
BIC: BYLADEM1COB
Sparkasse Coburg – Lichtenfels

Von der Idee zur Verwirklichung

Klinikbau in Kabanga

Eine Gesundheitsversorgung in Kabanga, circa 40 Kilometer von Rulenge entfernt, war vor dem Klinikbau durch Kivuko e.V. nicht vorhanden: Für eine Behandlung mussten die Einwohner in die 30 Kilometer entfernte Stadt Ngara gelangen. Die Busfahrt dorthin ist teuer und in einem labilen Zustand kaum zu bewältigen. Eine Apotheke gab es bereits in Kabanga. Hier wird aber durchschnittlich das Vierfache des Normalpreises verlangt. Als Konsequenz dieser Situation zögerten erkrankte Personen einen Arztbesuch häufig lange hinaus. Durch das fortgeschrittene Stadium der Erkrankungen verlängerte sich die anschließende Behandlungsdauer enorm. Damit stiegen auch Behandlungskosten. Um dieses Muster zu durchbrechen initiierte Kivuko e.V. den Bau einer Klinik für ambulante Behandlungen in Kabanga.

Im Mai 2018 wurde die Klinik offiziell in Betrieb genommen. Konkret handelt es sich dabei um eine Apotheke, ein Labor, einen Untersuchungsraum und eine Anmeldung. Die Kosten von etwa 25 000€ wurden komplett von Spenden an Kivuko e.V. getragen. Nun erhalten die Menschen in Kabanga eine elementare medizinische Betreuung – zu fairen Preisen. Für Kinder unter fünf Jahren und schwangere Frauen ist die Behandlung kostenfrei.

Klinikplan

Lebenswichtig: eine medizinische Grundversorgung

Vor allem nach der Regenzeit besteht ein erhöhtes Risiko, mit Malaria infiziert zu werden. Moskitonetze können davor nur bedingt schützen, zudem besitzen große Teile der Bevölkerung diese nicht. Besteht der Verdacht auf Malaria, ist es vor allem für Kinder, ältere oder schwache Menschen essentiell, schnellstmöglich einen Test durchführen zu lassen. Das ist seit Mai auch in der Gesundheitsstation von Kivuko e.V. in Kabanga möglich. Im Gegensatz zu – oft ungenauen – Schnelltests, wird hier professionell im Labor getestet.

Wurde eine Infizierung festgestellt, kann mit Medikamenten der klinikeigenen Apotheke die Erkrankung unmittelbar und effizient behandelt werden. Ansonsten werden einfache Diagnosen wie Wurminfektionen und Typhus gestellt. Aktuell wird daran gearbeitet, auch Tuberkulose diagnostizieren und behandeln zu können. Für kompliziertere Erkrankungen werden die PatientInnen an größere Krankenhäuser in der Region verwiesen.

Das Klinikgelände in Kabanga

Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen

Neben der Verbesserung der ärztlichen Versorgung in Kabanga profitiert die Region auch durch die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen nachhaltig vom Bau der Klinik. Arbeitslosigkeit ist im Ngara District, wie auch in anderen Gebieten, ein massives Problem und die Hauptursache für die Armut innerhalb der Bevölkerung, die wiederum die Verbreitung von Krankheiten begünstigt. Kivuko e.V. konnte durch den Klinikbau sieben Arbeitsplätze schaffen: Hier arbeiten ein Arzt, zwei Apothekerinnen, von denen eine auch eine ausgebildete Krankenschwester ist, ein Laborant, ein Wachmann, ein Buchführer und ein Klinikmanager. Deren Einkommen verbessert nicht nur ihre eigene Lebenssituation, sondern auch die ihrer Familien. So können die MitarbeiterInnen beispielsweise ihren Geschwistern und Kindern den Besuch einer weiterführenden Schule ermöglichen und damit das Bildungsniveau anheben.
Ausgesprochener Dank gilt allen Unterstützerinnen und Unterstützern, die den Bau der Klinik ermöglicht haben und somit einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten zur Verbesserung der Lebenssituation vor Ort. Auch die Kooperationspartner von Kivuko e.V. in Rulenge haben hervorragende Arbeit geleistet. Durch ihr unermüdliches Engagement und Durchhaltevermögen haben sie die Umsetzung der großen Vision einer verbesserten Gesundheitsversorgung in Kabanga möglich gemacht. Asante sana!

Follow Us:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
Kivuko e.V.
IBAN: DE 09 7835 0000 0040 6418 39
BIC: BYLADEM1COB
Sparkasse Coburg – Lichtenfels