HIV training for people with disabilities

The challenge

People in Tanzania who are infected with HIV often experience marginalization and are pushed to the edge of society. Parts of the rural population are not informed about the situations in which there is a risk of infection. Education in the area of contraception is therefore also of enormous importance as a preventive measure, so that the risk of infection can be minimized through the safe use of condoms and right medication.

Our goal

Access to knowledge about HIV/AIDS for people with disabilities

HIV/AIDS education must be accessible to all - including people with disabilities, who often have not had access to education or training elsewhere. This should enable them to protect themselves better and empower them to take action against their marginalization themselves.

Detection of previously unkown HIV infections

Knowledge of a possible HIV infection is crucial for the treatment of patients. It is also of high importance for preventing further infections.

How do we reach that?

HIV training for people with disabilities

The HIV training was conducted by doctors Martine Mwampamba and Fidelis Chiza, as well as employees of a project for people with disabilities. The seminars were supported with material from "Gib AIDS keine Chance".

Conducting rapid HIV tests

After the training, there was the possibility to have a rapid test carried out, financed by Kivuko e.V.. In case of a positive result, the doctor Fidelis immediately sought the conversation and further steps could be worked out.

Condoms for free 

The manufacturer Ritex provided a large quantity of condoms. On the one hand, these were explained during the training. On the other hand, everyone could take condoms with them. The testing of the condoms and the experience in using them should motivate to use them in the long term when needed. The condoms are available at stores.

And how does this look like?

Overall, the measure can be considered a great success. Around 500 people in seven villages were reached. 392 of them were tested. Without exception, there was positive feedback on the concept. In particular, participants took the opportunity to ask questions. Some explained that they often did not receive any information regarding contraception because of their disability, as there is a widespread belief in the region that people with disabilities have no right to a relationship.

HIV Schulung für Menschen mit Behinderungen

Hintergrund 

Menschen in Tansania, die an HIV erkrankt sind, erfahren oft Marginalisierung und werden an den Rand der Gesellschaft gedrängt. Teile der ländlichen Bevölkerung sind nicht darüber aufgeklärt, in welchen Situationen Ansteckungsgefahr besteht. Aufklärung im Bereich der Verhütung hat also auch als Präventivmaßnahme enorme Bedeutung, sodass durch die sichere Verwendung von Kondomen und richtige Medikation das Ansteckungsrisiko minimiert werden kann.

Unser Ziel

Zugang zu Wissen über HIV/AIDS für Menschen mit Behinderung

Aufklärung über HIV/AIDS muss für alle zugänglich sein - auch für Menschen mit Behinderungen, die oftmals keinen Zugang zur anderweitigen Aufklärung oder Bildung hatten. Sie sollen sich dadurch besser schützen können und dazu befähigt werden, ihrer Marginalisierung selbst etwas entgegenzusetzen.

Aufdecken von bisher unerkannten HIV-Infektionen

Die Kenntnis über eine mögliche HIV-Infektion ist ein lebenswichtiger Baustein für die Behandlung von Patientinnen und Patienten. Außerdem ist es entscheidend, um weitere Infektionen zu verhindern.

Wie erreichen wir das?

HIV-Schulung für Menschen mit Behinderung

Die HIV- Schulungen wurden durch die Mediziner Martine Mwampamba und Fidelis Chiza, sowie Mitarbeitende eines Projekts für Menschen mit Behinderungen durchgeführt. Unterstützt wurden die Seminare mit Material von "Gib Aids keine Chance".

Durchführung von HIV-Schnelltests 

Nach der Schulung gab es die Möglichkeit, einen von Kivuko e.V. finanzierten Schnelltest durchführen zu lassen. Im Falle eines positiven Ergebnisses, suchte der Arzt Fidelis umgehend das Gespräch und weitere Schritte konnten ausgearbeitet werden.

Ausgabe von Kondomen 

Der Hersteller Ritex stellte eine große Menge an Kondomen zur Verfügung. Diese wurden einerseits während der Schulung eingesetzt. Auf der anderen Seite konnte jede und jeder Kondome mitnehmen. Das Testen der Kondome und die Erfahrung in der Anwendung soll motivieren, sie langfristig bei Bedarf zu benutzen. Die Präservative sind bei Läden erhältlich.

Und wie sieht das bisher aus?

Insgesamt kann die Maßnahme als großer Erfolg gewertet werden. Es konnten rund 500 Menschen in sieben Dörfern erreicht werden, wovon sich 392 testen ließen. Es gab ausnahmslos positive Rückmeldungen auf das Konzept. Die Teilnehmenden nutzten insbesondere die Gelegenheit, Fragen zu stellen. Einige erklärten, dass sie aufgrund ihrer Behinderung häufig keine Auskunft bezüglich Verhütung erhalten hätten, denn in der Region ist der Glaube weit verbreitet, dass Menschen mit Behinderungen kein Recht auf eine Beziehung hätten.