Caristi Fortunatus – Training as physiotherapist

Caristi.jpg

Caristi Fortunatus

Caristi Fortunatus is a young village helper of the Community Rehabilitation Program (CBR), a project for people with disabilities. Within the framework of this project he took care of his clients in a committed manner. He also came in contact with physiotherapeutic work and showed great interest in the treatment techniques.

Due to the lack of health care in the Ngara region, the rate of people with disabilities is enormously high. However, there is only one physiotherapist in Rulenge, while there is an increased demand for this service. Fortunalety, Caristi Fortunatus, an ambitious young man, is taking on this task.

 

Initially, he was supported by Kivuko e.V. in completing secondary school through an evening school program, which he started in October 2017 and successfully completed in 2019. Now we are waiting for Caristi to start his training as a physiotherapist. As there are very few vocational schools in East Africa offering this training, we have to wait patiently for the chance to fulfill his dream.  

Goal: Caristi will return to the Ngara region after his training and treat people with disabilities. He will also train the CBR's village helpers in treatment techniques and show the clients and relatives practice programs for home use. This will enable him to improve the living situation of many clients.

Caristi Fortunatus – Physiotherapie Ausbildung

Caristi Fortunatus

Caristi Fortunatus ist ein junger Dorfhelfer des Community Rehabilitation Programs (CBR), einem Projekt für Menschen mit Behinderungen. Im Rahmen dessen kümmerte er sich engagiert um seine Klienten. So kam er auch mit physiotherapeutischer Arbeit in Berührung und zeigte großes Interesse an den Behandlungstechniken.

Durch die defizitäre Gesundheitsversorgung in der Ngara Region ist die Rate an Menschen mit Behinderungen hier enorm hoch. In Rulenge gibt es jedoch keinen Physiotherapeuten, obwohl gerade hier ein gesteigerter Bedarf besteht. Deshalb ist es umso erfreulicher, dass sich mit Caristi Fortunatus ein ehrgeiziger junger Mann dieser Aufgabe annimmt.

Zunächst wurde er durch Kivuko e.V. beim Absolvieren der Secondary School durch ein Abendschulprogramm unterstützt, das er im Oktober 2017 begonnen hat und 2019 erfolgreich beendet hat. Nun warten wir darauf, dass Caristi mit seiner Ausbildung zum Physiotherapeuten beginnen kann. Da es nur sehr wenige Fachschulen in Ostafrika gibt, die diese Ausbildung anbieten, müssen wir geduldig auf die Chance warten seinen Traum zu erfüllen.

Ziel: Caristi wird nach seiner Ausbildung in die Ngara Region zurückkehren und Menschen mit Behinderungen behandeln. Zudem wird er die DorfhelferInnen des CBRs in Behandlungstechniken schulen und den Klient*innen und Angehörigen Übungsprogramme für Zuhause zeigen. Dadurch wird er die Lebenssituation vieler Klient*innen verbessern können.

Follow Us:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
Kivuko e.V.
IBAN: DE 09 7835 0000 0040 6418 39
BIC: BYLADEM1COB
Sparkasse Coburg – Lichtenfels